Around 1,100 guests and VIPs gathered last week at Crown Towers Perth to recognise this year’s winners at the Australian Hotels Association WA’s 2023 AHA-Aon Hospitality Awards for Excellence.

Ending months of deliberation, finalists narrowed down from 440 nominations vied for 41 awards across five categories, being Employee, Entertainment, Dining, General and Overall.

Taking top honours as Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue was The Claremont Hotel, while its Regional counterpart was the Treendale Farm Hotel. The gong for Group Venue Operator went to Tillbrook Melaleuka Group (TMG).

AHA(WA) CEO Bradley Woods states that the state’s hospitality industry has never been in a stronger position, boasting a rich assortment of quality hotels, bars, pubs, taverns and restaurants, meaning the award recipients do represent the “best of the best”.

“WA’s hospitality industry plays a key role in the state’s economy and is fundamental in shaping visitors’ perception of the state.

“The quality of the hospitality venues that are on offer across WA is at an all-time high, being propelled by industry standards that are being lifted, then exceeded, each year.”



Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue: The Claremont Hotel

WA’s Best Regional Hospitality Venue: Treendale Farm Hotel (Hall of Fame)

Group Venue Operator Award: Tillbrook Melaleuka Group (TMG)


Cocktail Bar Award: Terrarium, Perth

Small Bar Award (Joint winners): Bertie, Bassendean and Caballitos, Perth (Hall of Fame)

Outdoor Area Award: Victoria Park Hotel

Redeveloped Venue Award: The Claremont Hotel

New Venue Award: Froth Craft Bunbrewery, Bunbury

Boutique Brewery Award: Thorny Devil Brewery, Herron

Late Night Venue Award: Universal Bar, Perth (Hall of Fame)

Draught Beer Quality Award: Pirate Life Perth

The Lion Bar Presentation and Service Award: The Claremont Hotel

Community Service Award: Finlay’s Kalbarri

Training Initiative Award: Optus Stadium, Burswood

Retail Bottleshop Award: Cellarbrations Superstore – Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind (Hall of Fame)

Aon Responsible Service of Alcohol Award: Crown Perth, Burswood

Tourism Initiative Award: Mambakoort – The Marina Mindarie

Conference and Functions Award: Crown Perth, Burswood

Social Media Activity Award: NightOwl Entertainment Group


Restaurant Award: The Shorehouse, Swanbourne

Superior Restaurant Award: Nobu – Crown Perth, Burswood

Wine List Award: The Shorehouse, Swanbourne

WA’s Best Steak Sandwich Award: North West Brewing Company

Contemporary Bar Menu Award: Market Grounds, Perth

Casual Pub Dining Award – Metropolitan: C.Y. O’Connor Village Pub, Piara Waters

Casual Pub Dining Award – Regional: Settlers Tavern, Margaret River

Family Dining Award: Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind (Hall of Fame)


Themed Venue Award: Lucky Chan’s Laundry & Noodle Bar, Northbridge

Live Entertainment Venue Award: Milkbar – Civic Hotel, Inglewood

Sporting Entertainment Venue Award: Patriots Sports Bar – Brass Monkey Hotel, Northbridge

TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award: The Brook Bar & Bistro, Ellenbrook (Hall of Fame)


Bar Team Award: The Aviary Perth

Head Chef Award (Joint winners): Ashish Gagneja, Chakra Restaurant and Paul Beard, RAC Arena

Cocktail Bartender Award: David Xander Stucken, Terrarium Perth

Venue Manager Award (Joint winners): Sam Drury, Gosnells Hotel and Grant Humeston, Optus Stadium

Rising Star Award: Sam Spadek, Queens Tavern

Cookery Services Employee Award: ‘Shin’ Wei-Sin Chen, Settlers Tavern

Food and Beverage Services Employee Award: Wils Fountain, Odyssea

Front Office and Administration Employee Award: Debra Webb, Bailey Brewing Co.

PubTAB Operator Award: Mariah O’Brien, The Gate Bar & Bistro

Excellence in Service Award: Grant Fomison, Kailis Fishmarket Café

Scroll to Top