The crème of the country’s hotels were crowned this week at the prestigious Australian Hotels Association National Awards for Excellence.

A record 730 VIPs and industry guests gathered for the extravaganza, held for the first time at Sydney’s Campbell’s Cove, to see 249 nominees vie for 45 award categories.

The major prize of Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan went to the already highly acclaimed Eaton’s Hill Hotel, for the second time, having won the title in 2012, a year after opening.

The massive Brisbane pub also snared Best Outdoor/Non-Enclosed Facility, as the Comiskey Group were finalists in an impressive six categories. This is also the second year in a row the Group has taken the top gong, after its whopping Sandstone Point Hotel grabbed the trophy last year.

“We were all very surprised to come home with the Overall Hotel of the Year award,” offered Group director Rob Comiskey. “Winning it for the second year in a row was an unbelievable result.”

Taking the show for Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional was the Treendale Farm Hotel, heading up a big night for the western state. Known as ‘The Farm’ it opened in 2020 and has become the centre of WA’s Australind community, championing community connection and regularly hosting community events.

Offering “something for everyone” The Farm boasts both indoor and outdoor family dining and kids’ play areas, sports bar with TAB, and large-format bottleshop.

“I just would like to thank the whole team involved with the Treendale Farm operation, from management to FOH, BOH and retail, for the hard work and dedication and always providing the best customer service,” offered The Farm’s Addy Ribeiro.

A total of five WA venues took national trophies, with Best Regional Bistro going to Hybla Tavern, Albany, Best Metropolitan Bistro going to the Rose & Crown in Guildford, Best Metropolitan Restaurant going to Fleur at The Royal Hotel in Perth, and Best Deluxe Accommodation awarded to Perth’s Ritz-Carlton.

The night also saw Western Australian hospitality stalwart and AHA(WA) President Neil Randall inducted into the prestigious Diageo Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame, for his significant service and contribution to the state’s industry.

“Neil’s hospitality career spans over 40 years and will soon become the longest-serving President in the history of the AHA(WA),” noted AHA(WA) CEO Bradley Woods. “This award recognises a true industry icon.”

The new national President suggested the standard of excellence bodes well for the ongoing restriction-free rebound.

“Today is an opportunity for the best in the business to come together at the start of what is set to be a bright and prosperous summer for our industry,” said the AHA’s David Canny.

“Nothing compares to the atmosphere, the noise and the sheer joy of being out in a lively pub full of good people, good food and great drinks. Today’s winners are proof that here in Australia we have the best hotel and accommodation venues, operators and staff in the world.”

Comiskey Group


  1. Employee Excellence in Service – General Division: WINNER: Paradise Valley Hotel, Belgrave VIC (Liam Fisher)
  2. Front of House Employee of the Year – General Division: WINNER: Bar Beirut, Canberra ACT (Soumi Tannous)
  3. Chef of the Year: WINNER: QT Melbourne, VIC (Paul Griffiths) and The Gem Hotel, NSW (Anthony Fullarton)
  4. Employee Excellence in Service – Accommodation Division: WINNER: Cyprus Lakes Resorts, Hunter Valley, NSW (Shaun O’Bryan), Ovolo South Yarra, VIC (Amy Moylan), Crown Hotels Melbourne, VIC (Brad Francis), Crown Towers Sydney, NSW (Lauren Carinci)
  5. Front of House Employee of the Year – Accommodation Division: WINNER: Eos by SkyCity, Adelaide, SA (Siddartha Kaul)
  6. Hotel Industry Rising Star: WINNER: Verandah Bar, Sydney, NSW (Sharni Aird), Eos by SkyCity, SA (Meg Anderson)
  7. Outstanding Achievement in Training: WINNER: Berry Springs Tavern, NT
  8. Outstanding Community Service & Achievement: WINNER: Barmah Hotel, VIC and El Cortez Hotel, Canley Heights, NSW
  9. Excellence in Innovation, Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Practice: WINNER: Howard Smith Wharves, QLD
  10. Best Tourism Initiative: WINNER: The Cove, Tasmania TAS
  11. Best Bar Presentation & Service – Regional: WINNER: Loxton Hotel, SA
  12. Best Bar Presentation & Service – Metropolitan: WINNER: Peninsula Hotel, SA
  13. Draught Beer Quality Award: WINNER: Oriental Hotel Mudgee, NSW
  14. Best Hotel Bar – Accommodation Division: WINNER: Iris Rooftop, Hotel X, QLD
  15. Best Retail Liquor Outlet: WINNER: Devonport Cellarbrations, TAS
  16. Best TAB Licensed Venue: WINNER: Lizards Bar and Restaurant. NT
  17. Best Gaming Venue – Regional: WINNER: Grovedale Hotel, VIC
  18. Best Gaming Venue – Metropolitan: WINNER: Rosstown Hotel, VIC
  19. Best Family Dining: WINNER: Belair Hotel, SA
  20. Best Restaurant – Regional: WINNER: Furneaux Restaurant, TAS
  21. Best Restaurant – Metropolitan: WINNER: Fleur, The Royal, WA
  22. Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division (Mid-Range – Superior): WINNER: Mister Percy, The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo, NSW
  23. Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division (Deluxe): WINNER: Amara, Spicers Sangoma Retreat
  24. Best Marketed Hotel – General Division: WINNER: Cloudland, QLD
  25. Best Marketed Hotel – Accommodation Division: WINNER: Grand Hyatt Melbourne, VIC
  26. Best Meeting and Events Venue: WINNER: Hotel Realm, ACT
  27. Best Suite/Apartment Hotel: WINNER: Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, QLD
  28. Best Sporting Entertainment Venue: WINNER: Landmark, NT
  29. Best Entertainment Venue: WINNER: Beach Hotel, Byron Bay, NSW
  30. Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Facility: WINNER: Eatons Hill Hotel, QLD
  31. Best Bistro – Regional: WINNER: Hybla Tavern, WA
  32. Best Bistro – Metropolitan: WINNER: Rose & Crown Hotel, WA
  33. Best Traditional Pub Accommodation: WINNER: Porters Plainland Hotel, QLD
  34. Best Deluxe Pub Accommodation: WINNER: Bermagui Beach Hotel, NSW
  35. Best Mid-Range Accommodation: WINNER: Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, VIC
  36. Best Superior Accommodation: WINNER: Spicers Sangoma Retreat, NSW
  37. Best Redeveloped Hotel – General Division: WINNER: Loxton Hotel, SA
  38. Best Redeveloped Hotel – Accommodation Division: WINNER: JW Marriott Gold Coast, QLD
  39. Best Deluxe Accommodation: WINNER: Crown Towers Sydney, NSW, The Ritz Carlton, Perth, WA
  40. Best Luxury Accommodation: WINNER: Saffire Freycinet, TAS
  41. 2022 Diageo Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame: WINNER: Neil Randall, WA
  42. Best Hotel Group Operator: WINNER: Flower Hotels, NSW
  43. Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional: WINNER: Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind, WA
  44. Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan: WINNER: Eatons Hill Hotel, QLD
  45. Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division: WINNER: The Tasman, Hobart, TAS
Scroll to Top